In Louisiana, an assault is when someone intentionally places another person in reasonable fear of being harmed by violence. Simple assault is an assault when no weapon is used. Simple assault can include attempting to slap, kick, or strike someone. Simple assault is a misdemeanor in Louisiana and is punishable by up to 90 days in jail. An assault with a weapon is usually classified as an aggravated assault. There are many types of aggravated assaults. Aggravated assault upon a peace officer with a firearm, aggravated assault with a firearm, and assault on a school teacher are some examples of the different types of aggravated assaults. Aggravated assaults range from misdemeanor offences punishable by six months in jail to some aggravated assaults that are punishable by up to 10 years in jail. Some types of aggravated assaults also carry mandatory jail minimum jail sentences. Ben LaBranche has experience defending people accused of assaults.
If you need an attorney to help defend allegations of assault, contact Ben LaBranche at (225) 927-5495 for a free consultation.